After We Fall: A Book Reivew

 

aFTER WE FALLFor fans of Tana French and Alice LaPlante comes After We Fall, a debut psychological thriller by former police psychologist Emma Kavanagh that explores four lives shattered in the tense aftermath of a plane crash. (Taken from the publishers review)

Four people are about to have their lives impacted shortly after take off. The airplane, flight 2940 crashed  into the snow-covered ground, breaking into two parts, the only survivors a handful of passengers and a flight attendant.These are the people from whome the story unfolds,

Cecilia has packed up and left her family. Now she has survived a tragedy and sees no way out.

Tom has woken up to discover that his wife was on the plane and must break the news to their only son.

Jim is a retired police offer and worried father. His beloved daughter has disappeared, and he knows something is wrong.

Fretya is struggling to cope with the loss of her father. But as she delves into his past, she may not like what she finds.

These four people, who have never met but now must join together and face these disasters. All of the characters  reveal the closely guarded secrets that unlock the answers to their questions about their current circumstances. 

The story is told from various points of view and while this works with a lot of books, I was not familiar with the Kavangh’s style and I got lost a few times as I read the boo.  The viewpoints diversify, chapter by chapter, as the characters involve themselves in the investigation of the murder. readers follow the investigation of the murder. Kavanagh weaves together the stories together, but I thought that the story would have better told if there was a main characters that kind of held the reins of everyone’s involvement in the crash and murder.  

Despite that the story follows the style of Mary Higgins Clark to a degree and I think people will enjoy the story.

 

Emma Kavanagh was born and raised in South Wales. After graduating with a PhD in psychology from Cardiff University, she spent many years working as a police and military psychologist, training firearms officers, command staff, and military personnel throughout the UK and Europe. She started her business as a psychology consultant, specializing in human performance in extreme situations. She lives in South Wales with her husband and two young sons.

 

After We Fall: A Novel

JUNE 2015

ISBN: 9781492609193

$14.99 U.S.; Trade Paper

Fiction; Sourcebooks Landmark

This book was an advanced readers copy from Netgalley.  The opinion is that of the writer.  

 

 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s